BJP’s BS Yeddyurappa sworn-in as Chief Minister of Karnataka


Bengaluru: Bharatiya Janata Party’s BS Yeddyurappa, on Thursday, was sworn-in as the Chief Minister of Karnataka. This is the third term of Yeddyurappa as the CM of the state.

Governor Vajubhai Vala administered the oath of office to Yeddyurappa at 9 a.m. in the ‘Glass House’ of Raj Bhavan amid tight security.

Yeddyurappa, 75, took the oath in Kannada in the presence central and state leaders of the Bharatiya Janata Party and newly-elected legislators and senior officials.

It is to be mentioned that, a three-judge bench of the Supreme Court declined to stay the swearing-in of Yeddyurappa as the Chief Minister.

Earlier, the new Bharatiya Janata Party MLAs unanimously elected the former Chief Minister and the BJP’s Chief Ministerial face Yeddyurappa as their legislative party leader.

Also Read: 77 new Karnataka MLAs declared criminal cases in affidavits: Report

“I have requested the Governor to allow me to take oath as the Chief Minister at the earliest and the Governor said he would take an appropriate decision soon,” he said.

Of the 222 constituencies where polling was held on May 12, the BJP won 104 seats while the Congress won 78 and JD-S won 38 seats, along with its ally Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), throwing up a hung Assembly.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here