PM Modi, Rahul Gandhi in Chhattisgarh to campaign for assembly polls

PM Modi, Rahul Gandhi in Chhattisgarh to campaign for assembly polls

PM Modi, Rahul Gandhi in Chhattisgarh to campaign for assembly polls

Raipur: Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Congress President Rahul Gandhi are in Chhattisgarh to campaign for the first phase of assembly elections in the state, on Friday.

PM Modi will address a rally in Bastar district’s headquarters, Jagdalpur while Rahul Gandhi is all set to tour the state for two days during which he will address five rallies and hold a road show in Chief Minister Raman Singh’s constituency Rajnandgaon.

According to BJP spokesperson, “The prime minister is scheduled to arrive at Raipur airport at 11:20am Friday and then take a helicopter to Jagdalpur. Following the rally, he will leave for Raipur at 2 pm and then return to Delhi.”

ALSO READ:  You will definitely love this avatar of Radhika Apte | Check pic

He added, “This will be the PM’s first election rally for the state Assembly polls. It will add power to the party’s campaign.”

Rahul will address his first rally in Pakhanjore town of Kanker district at noon, followed by public meetings in Rajnandgaon district’s Khairgarh and Dongargarh towns, and a road show in Rajnandgaon, said head of Congress state communication wing Shailesh Nitin Trivedi.

What else Trivedi stated:

  • On Saturday, Rahul will address rallies in Charama (Kanker district) and Kondagaon.
  • Rahul will also chair a meeting of party workers in Jagdalpur.

It is to be mentioned that Raman Singh is also scheduled to hold a road show in Rajnandgaon on Friday evening. He is pitted against the Congress’s Karuna Shukla, niece of late prime minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee.

ALSO READ: United Nations issues special diya stamps to celebrate Diwali

The campaigning for the first phase will end on Saturday.

The first phase on November 12 will see 18 seats of eight Maoist-affected districts go to polls. Of these, 12 are Scheduled Tribe seats while one is a Scheduled Caste-reserved seat.

The remaining 72 constituencies will go to polls on November 20 and counting of votes will be held on December 11.

ALSO READ:  This is how PM Modi celebrating his Diwali this year | Check