IPL 10 MI vs KKR: Mumbai bowlers restrict Kolkata to 107

IPL 10 Qualifier 2 MI vs KKR: Mumbai bowlers restrict Kolkata to 107
IPL 10 Qualifier 2 MI vs KKR: Mumbai bowlers restrict Kolkata to 107

Bengaluru: Mumbai Indians (MI) pulled out a great bowling performance in Qualifier 2 of Indian Premier League (IPL) against Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) to restrict them to a below par score of 107 runs in 18.5 overs on a bowling-friendly M Chinnaswamy wicket here on Friday.

Jasprit Bumrah and Karn Sharma ripped through KKR batting line-up by bagging 3 and four wickets, respectively, in their three and four-over spells. They conceded only 7 and 16 runs, respectively.

Mitchell Johnson also plucked two wickets in his four overs giving away 28 runs. Hardik Pandya bowled just one over for 4 runs while his brother Krunal Pandya was a little expensive in this match. He conceded 25 runs in three overs and remained wicket-less.

Lasith Malinga managed to get the final wicket of the inning in form of Ankit Rajpoot. He gave away 24 runs in 3.5 overs.

Suryakumar Yadav, who has been in and out of KKR playing XI during this season, was the highest scorer today with his 31-run knock off 25 balls hitting 2 fours and a six. He was well accompanied by Ishank Jaggi who played a sensible 28-run knock off 31 balls, with the help of 3 boundaries.

KKR started off to a bad start after they were invited to bat first by MI. Destructive opener Chris Lynn (4 off 8) departed in the second over of the inning, bowled by Jasprit Bumrah. At team’s total of 24 runs, Sunil Narine (10 off 10, 1 six) also went back.

Robin Uthappa also looked in a hurry to return as he departed after adding just 1 run to the total. Skipper Gautam Gambhir (12 off 15, 2 fours) also failed today leaving his team under immense pressure at 31/4 in 6.5 overs. On the very next delivery bowled by Karn Sharma, Colin de Grandhomme also got out in form of fifth wicket of KKR.

Also Read: IPL 10 Qualifier 2 MI vs KKR: Mumbai wins toss; Kolkata to bat

Jaggi and Suryakumar Yadav added 56 runs for the sixth wicket to lead their team to 87 runs before the former departed. With 94 runs on the board, Piyush Chawla (2 off 6) returned to the dug-out. Nathan Coulter-Nile smashed a six in his 6-run inning off 4 deliveries, but could not take his team anywhere beyond 100 runs.

Then it was the turn of Suryakumar Yadav, who was also sent back by none other than Bumrah, who not only bagged three important wickets to break the spine of KKR but also bowled a maiden over to keep the scoring rate under check.

Ashish Rajpoot was the last man to depart at the individual score of 4 runs. Mumbai Indians will soon come back on the ground to chase down a small target of 108 runs.

Facebook Comments


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here