Watson’s bossy ton powers CSK to third IPL title

Watson's bossy ton powers CSK to clich third IPL title

Watson's bossy ton powers CSK to clich third IPL title

Mumbai: It was a stupendous return of the Chennai Super Kings after two-year ban. Thanks to the boss innings from Shane Watson, the yellow army claimed the Indian Premier League title for the third time beating the Sunrisers Hyderabad by eight wickets in the final of the cash-rich league at the Wankhede stadium here on Sunday.

Chasing 179 for victory, CSK’s got off to a slow start with first over of its inning going maiden. Faf du Plessis dismissal at 10 turned things difficult for CSK.

Then, Suresh Raina along with Watson kept on scoring runs on quick note. Raina scored 24-ball 32-run knock which proved a pressure releasing booster for the yellow army.

Watto, singlehandedly, rocked the show from one end leaving SRH bowlers in nowhere’s land.

Rayudu also remained unbeaten at 16. For SRH, Sandeep and Brathwaite took one-wicket each.

Earlier, Yusuf Pathan’s unbeaten 45 runs off 25 balls along with skipper Kane Williamson’s 47 helped Sunrisers Hyderabad post a competitive 178/6.

In a batting friendly track at the Wankhede stadium here, Yusuf, who came when the scoreboard was reading 101/3, played a good knock to propel Hyderabad to a good total in their 20 overs.

The Baroda batsman’s unbeaten innings contained four boundaries and a couple of hits into the stands.

Put in to bat, Hyderabad started their proceedings on a bad note as opener Shreevats Goswami (5) gifted his wicket in the second over with the just 13 runs on the board.

While trying to convert a single, Goswami fell short of the crease when a throw from long leg by Karn Sharma was easily picked by Dhoni to give Hyderabad the first jolt.

Opener Shikhar Dhawan was then joined by Williamson and the duo stabilised Hyderabad’s innings putting on a 51-run partnership for the second wicket.

Left-arm spinner Ravindra Jadeja broke the partnership in the ninth over as he clean bowled Dhawan on 26 runs.

Shakib Al Hasan then took Hyderabad’s innings forward with his skipper as the side crossed the 100-run mark in 11.5 overs. However, in a desperate attempt, Williamson came down the wicket trying to play big, but the ball drifted away and then Dhoni did the rest behind the stumps.

The Hyderabad skipper’s knock came off 36 balls, decorated with five boundaries and two sixes.

Williamson’s fall bought Yusuf in the middle and the right-hander made clear his intentions from the very beginning, smashing a boundary in the second ball he faced.

But when things seemed good in the middle, Bravo packed back Shakib (23 off 15) in the 16th over, leaving Hyderabad at 133/4.

Incoming batsman Deepak Hooda (3) fell cheaply in the 17th over which saw Carlos Brathwaite joining Yusuf.

The Baroda batsman then accumulated 34 runs for Hyderabad with Brathwaite in the remaining 18 deliveries to help their side reach a competitive total in the mega final.

Brathwaite, who fell in the final delivery of Hyderabad’s innings, chipped in with a valuable 21 runs off 11 balls.

For Chennai, Lungi Ngidi, Shardul Thakur, Karn Sharma, Dwayne Bravo and Jadeja bagged one wicket each.

Watto played gem of a knock and remained unbeaten at 117. His 57-ball knock was laced with 11 fours and 8 sixes.